Local Governing Body (LGB)

To provide a strong local sense of management and strategy, Rowan Preparatory School has a Local Governing Body (LGB) with its own Chair and Governors drawn from across the local community.

Jo joined the Governing Body in 2012 after nine years as a parent of two Rowan girls.  She became Chair in 2017.  Jo was educated at Trinity Hall, Cambridge University where she studied History, and went on to become a partner at PwC in London, specialising in corporation tax advisory services. 

Having experienced her daughters’ very happy journey through Rowan she is delighted to have the excuse to spend lots of time in school. Jo particularly enjoys attending Open Days where she can watch the girls acting as proud ambassadors for the school.

Louise became a governor in 2014. She lives in Claygate and has three children; her daughters both spent happy years at the Brae and the Hill and her son attends Reed’s School. Graduating with a degree in History from Bristol University, Louise then spent many years working at News International and running the advertising teams for The Times and Sunday Times Magazines, and gaining IoM qualifications.

Whilst taking a career break, Louise was deputy and Chair of Friends of Rowan. She now works in Marketing and Communications for a Digital Mapping Company and is delighted to maintain her involvement with Rowan as it continues to flourish.

Lesley joined the governing board in March 2021 and is the parent of two ex-Rowan girls who are now at university studying Engineering and Physics. Lesley studied Agricultural Economics at Exeter University before a career as Profit Manager at GKN and BA and then as a Management Consultant. Lesley has spent ten years sitting as a magistrate, most recently as a Presiding Justice in the London Family Court and she is a mentor with Surrey Care Trust in early intervention scheme working to support vulnerable children and adults.

Lesley’s daughter’s both have great memories of their time at Rowan where they made lifelong friendships. Both girls still chat fondly about their teachers and, of course, about happy hours spent in The Spinney. Lesley is delighted to be a governor for Rowan and support a school that offers a wonderful education for girls.

Justin became a governor in 2018. Until very recently he was a Partner in the Tax Practice at PwC where he advised multinational companies. He studied History at the University of Manchester and is now studying for an MA at Royal Holloway.

He is married with two sons, one at University and the other at KCS Wimbledon.

Melanie is a Chartered Fellow of the CIPD with strategic and operational HR experience across a wide range of sectors.  She is currently working as a Talent Development Manager and HR Business Partner for The PGA European Tour.  She is a volunteer Enterprise Adviser, through the Careers and Enterprise Company, linked with Three Rivers Academy in Walton Upon Thames. 

Her daughter attended Rowan and is now studying Civil Engineering, as a result of Ms Gorman's passion for structures in an early science lesson. She was delighted to join the Governing Body in 2017. Melanie read History at Edinburgh University.

Isobel become a governor in 2013. She is an ex-Rowan pupil who lives locally and is an active member of the community. She works as a teacher and has a love of drama and the arts.

Joanna is Executive Head at Shrewsbury House School Trust and has extensive experience in both the independent and maintained education sectors across a wide age range.  She has taught in the UK and overseas and is also an ISI inspector. Having known Rowan for many years she is delighted to be able to contribute to the continued development of this forward-thinking school.

Rowena Cole is an inspiring educational leader with experience gained from both the state and independent sectors, including as Deputy Head of Guildford High School and Headteacher of Dunottar School. She has an MBA in Educational Leadership. Rowena is currently The Head at St John’s School, Leatherhead, an 11-18 co-educational independent school, and lives in Surrey with her husband and two children.

Su is a great-niece of the founder, Miss Katherine Millar.  She joined the governing body in 2010 following in the footsteps of her uncle, father and grandfather.  Prior to that she was a founding member of the Rowan Association for alumni, and is an ex-pupil herself. 

She works in an operational role running an office of 2,000 staff in a multinational marketing and communications agency in London.

David is a former Rowan parent and joined the Governing body in 2019. He grew up in Claygate and attended Milbourne Lodge Senior School, and progressed to study Classics at Trinity College, Cambridge. David trained as a chartered accountant with Arthur Andersen and enjoyed 20+ years in a range of CFO & COO roles including Teach First. David started his own recruitment business in 2015, advising a range of commercial clients and schools.

David particularly enjoys attending concerts and theatrical performances at Rowan which never fail to charm and delight.

Gary joined the governing body in 2020, just as his twin daughters were leaving Rowan to join Guildford High and Tormead. Enjoying a successful career in advertising across multiple advertising agencies, both buying and selling TV airtime, Gary became the Commercial Director for ITV in 2007.  Gary went on to set up his own Media Consultancy company and has, most recently, launched 5 trampoline parks in the UK as COO.

Jon became a Governor in late 2021, a few months after the younger of his two daughters left Rowan to move to St John's in Leatherhead. A qualified lawyer, Jon lives in Thames Ditton with his wife and daughters - both of whom loved their time at Rowan. Jon is a keen sportsman and is heavily involved (both as a player and as a coach with the Juniors) with the Old Cranleighan Hockey Club, which many Rowan girls have joined in recent years.

Governing Body

Rowan Preparatory School is part of United Learning. United Learning comprises: UCST (Registered in England No: 2780748. Charity No. 1016538) and ULT (Registered in England No. 4439859. An Exempt Charity). Companies limited by guarantee. VAT number 834 8515 12.

The registered address is:

United Learning
Worldwide House
Thorpe Wood

The legal governing body for Rowan Prep School is the United Church Schools Trust (United Learning). If you wish to speak to United Learning regarding any matter, please visit their website.